• 740 assumed establishment of a Königshof
  • 883 town captured by the Vikings
  • ca. 1000-1200 The Rhein changes its course, leaving the city a couple of kilometers away from its bank. Although the dead arm of the river still provides a connection for a while, the long-term effect on the economic standing of the town is severe.
  • 1145 The Knights Hospitallers found the Marienkirche (church), their first establishment on German soil
  • 1290 Duisburg passes to the Duchy of Kleve
  • 1445 Duisburg is attacked by the Archbishop of Köln during the Soester Fehde of 1444-1449. The town of Soest was resisting rule by the Archbishop and was aided by the Duke of Kleve-Mark (of which Duisburg was a part). The surprise night attack was noticed just in time and foiled, although probably the attack was not in full earnest as it should have been - the walls were not solid enough to resist a serious attack. As he retreated across the bridge over the Dickelsbach, he was alleged to have cried: "Verloren, verloren!" (lost, lost), after which the bridge was supposed to have received its name "Verlorencostbrugge" first used in 1544. The name was then corrupted to "Verlörkesbrücke".

  • 1552 Mercator settles here. The comparatively liberal climate of Kleve was preferable to the Catholic areas of the Netherlands where he had been threatened.
  • 1587 The Spanish conquer Ruhrort defeating the Dutch occupiers (Eighty Years War)
  • 1655 The University of the Duchy of Kleve is founded in Duisburg after the Duchy passes to Prussia
  • 1674 a regular river service is inaugarated between Duisburg and the Netherlands (predominantly Nijmegen originally).
  • 1716 the Ruhrort authorities decide to build a harbor
  • 1721 first shipyard opened in Ruhrort
  • 1818 The University was shut down by the Prussian Government. Large parts of the library are transferred to the re-founded Bonn University.
  • 1828 Franz Haniel opens a shipyard in Ruhrort for the construction of steamers
  • 1867 August Thyssen and relatives found the "Thyssen-Foussol & Co" ironworks
  • 1905 Duisburg, Ruhrort and Meiderich are merged, seemingly as part and parcel of extending the harbors, as desired by the Government of Prussia.
  • 1911 Hamborn is given town rights and is simulataneously declared a Groß (i.e. with 100,000 inhabitants)
  • 1921 occupied by French and Belgian troops (along with Düsseldorf). In 1922, this occupation is extended to the whole Ruhr district.
  • 1926 Wedau stadium is officially opened - the second largest stadium in Deutschland (after Grünewaldstadion in Berlin).
  • 1928 The 'double-town' of Duisburg-Hamborn is formed (against the opposition of Hamborn, according to some sources).
  • 1945 About 80% of all housing is either destroyed or badly damaged.
  • 1954 Duisburg becomes the first German city to control parking. Meters are installed in 'Am Buchenbaum'.
  • 1972 Duisburg University is formed (later fused with the University of Essen).
  • 1975 Duisburg is extended to the left bank of the Rhein with the annexation of Rheinhausen, Homberg. Northwards extension through absorption of Walsum.
  • 1982 Krupp shut down their rolling mill in Rheinhausen, sparking massive protests. The steel industry in general becomes concentated in Duisburg and Dortmund, when the last blast furnace outside these two cities is closed down (in Gelsenkirchen).