The Zeche Humboldt was producing coal by 1780. It was closed in the 1920s and its grounds are now used for the Rhein-Ruhr Zentrum.
In 1912, the (current-) Max Planck Institut for Kohlenforschung (institute for research into coal) was founded.
In the 1960s, Mülheim received the claim to be the first Ruhr town to have no steel works or coal mines. As a part of the required economic restructuring, the Rhein Ruhr Zentrum was opened in 1973.
The protestant Petrikiche can claim to date back in its original form to over 1,000 years ago
The Catholic Church of Mariae Geburt (Marienkirche) was built in 1928/29.
The Schloss Broich is announced by some parties as being the oldest fortification in the German-speaking lands. Its origins date back to an installation built adjacent to where the Hellweg led over a ford across the River Ruhr, seemingly to protect the area from Viking predation. It was later reinforced during the times of Charlemagne before passing eventually into the gift of the Archbishop of Köln.